The World Series


Anyone pumped up for this at all?  I can’t say that I am… I have nothing but bitterness in my heart right now, and watching the games would only make it worse.  It was just a short time ago that tonight’s starting pitchers, both former Cy Young winners, played for the Cleveland Indians.  As in, 2 years ago or so.  It would be really hard for me to watch CC Sabathia and Cliff Lee win a World Series for another team.

With that said, what are some of you guys’ favorite sports memories?  I have extremely fond memories of watching the Arizona Diamondbacks beat the NY Yankees in the 2001 World Series.  I can vividly remember watching the games in the basement of the Willard House, back when we had that sweet entertainment setup.  I remember watching much-maligned closer Byung-Hyung Kim almost blow the series in one game, then come back to shut down the Yanks in game 7.  I remember the camaraderie we felt in cheering against the Yankees (because they had won the previous 2 World Series and we were bitter).  But most of all, I remember Socky Gonzalez and his clutch hitting.  He will be missed.  GONZALEZ!!

Socky Gonzalez

It's Socky!

