Popeye Moments and Africa


I was planning leadership yesterday which inevitably led me to You Tube to search for Popeye the Sailor man clips. I am doing a leadership where I’m talking about “Popeye Moments” (amongst some other things). A Popeye moment is when someone finally reaches their breaking point. Popeye had a famous expression where right before he ate his spinach he would say “I had all I can stands and I can’t stands it anymore.” Then he’d turn into a crazy man or at least turn his hand into hammer and just go to town on his opponent (usually Bluto).

I’ve been thinking about what my popeye moment is in life. When will I just break and say I have all I can stands and I can’t stands it anymore. I’m thinking about this in a positive way. I’ve been running a mediocre club since I’ve been here in Lexington. There have been some neat stories that come out of it but on the whole it’s just been OK at best. Last night we had a team meeting where we, maybe for the first time, discussed drastically changing some things. I had all I can stands and I can’t stands it anymore. I’m excited about these moments.

What are popeye moments for you? What would it take for you to get to the point where you’re fed up with sin and filth and “just can’t stands it anymore?”

Also, here is an incredible video set to Africa by Toto.

