I hid my face from you for a moment, but with everlasting kindness I will have compassion on you.” Says the Lord your Redeemer.
To me this is like the days of Noah, when I swore that the waters of Noah would never again cover the earth. So now I have sworn not to be angry with you, never to rebuke you again.

This is from Isaiah 54. In my own sense, I have taken it to be the promise of Christ. In 2 Samuel it says “I will be my father, and He will be my son. When He does wrong, I will punish Him, with a rod yielded by human beings, with flogging inflicted by human hands. But my love will never be taken away from Him.

…When He does wrong. Ironic a little as He never did wrong, but God saw in Christ the wrongness of us all, that’s on Him. And He was punished accordingly. He paid the price of God’s anger, making the Isaiah promise possible.

In Jude it says “Though you already know all this I want to remind you that the Lord at one time delivered His people out of Egypt, but later destroyed those who did not believe.” It kinda sounds like a threat. The Lord has delivered you, but He will destroy you if you don’t believe.

Once you have believed in Jesus, and have started given your life to Him (as evidenced by fruit and changes) is it possible to fall out of the promise made in Isaiah? If you stop believing, even after earnestly living in the truth and for real being Christian, do you fall back under judgment? I know there is discipline, and Hebrews 12 talks about that, enduring hardships. But what about when people are just ignoring God, does His anger come. Don’t worry, it’s not my plan to stop believing, and God is doing some amazing things in my life right now even though I’ve kinda had it a bit rough. I’m just trying to get a better understanding of some of the stuff that I’ve been reading recently. Anyways, there’s some food for thought! Peace

