Unreal, from 101 Hymn Stories by Osbeck:

This is another of the more than 8,000 gospel hymns written by the blind American poetess, Fanny Crosby.

Oh, what happy soul am I!
Although I cannot see,
I am resolved that in this world
Contented I will be.

How many blessings I enjoy
That other people don’t;
To weep and sigh because I’m blind,
I cannot, and I won’t

Once a well-intentioned Scotch minister remarked to her, “I think it is a great pity that the Master, when He showered so many gifts upon you, did not give you sight.”
Her rebuke came quickly, “Do you know that if at birth I had been able to make one petition to my Creator, it would have been that I should be born blind?”
“Why?” asked the surprised clergyman.
“Because, when I get to heaven, the first face that shall ever gladden my sight will be that of my Savior.”

Also, if you guys come across “Memoirs of an Ordinary Pastor” – the life of Don Carson’s dad. Check it out. It is a good and easy read for those in ministry.

